Ten minutes before a conference this afternoon, I spotted my co-worker Randy Montgomery in someone else’s office. On the spur of the moment, I stuck my head in the door and said, “Hey, Randy, you might want to sit in on this. These guys are going to tell us about the new mobile apps they’re designing.”

A quick glance at his watch. “Sure. I have another meeting in half an hour, but I’d like to hear about this.”

Randy didn’t show at the appointed time, so we started the meeting without him. An educational consultant and I began to describe New Life Together, a new discipleship ministry we’re beginning. We were just getting into the nitty-gritty details when Randy popped in.

“Tell them about Focus 40,” I said.

Within a few minutes, sparks began to fly. Creative sparks. Randy told them about the 40-day devotional emphasis leading up to Easter, and they told him about a mobile app that could feed daily devotional readings to people who participated. “It’s an app we developed, called Daily Devo.”

“You’re kidding. I have that on my iPhone,” Randy said. “I use it every day.”

They were off to the races, so I turned to my high-powered consultant and said, “Don’t worry. We’ll get back to our project eventually.” And we did.

What held me in thrall was the way Randy made connection with two guys who carried an important piece of his ministry puzzle, just on the spur of the moment. Or was it something more?

I believe it was a divine appointment.