I was walking across a street on December 30 when I hit a patch of ice, fell on my left shoulder, and ruptured my rotator cuff. Immediately, I lost the use of my left arm. (I couldn’t even pick myself up from the street; a passing snowplow driver had to do that.)

In the week since then, I’ve had to learn how to do routine things with just one arm, and something as simple as putting on a shirt has become a major undertaking. This will be my lot in life until I have surgery to repair the injury.

A physical disability gives you a fresh appreciation for people whose daily interventions make life possible. My wife has become my strong left arm. She ties my shoes, helps me into the car, and does hundreds of other things that I can’t do with my arm in a sling. I’ve thanked her so profusely that she’s getting a bit embarrassed.

However, even after I regain the use of my arm, I’m sure that Judy will do many mundane things every day to make my life possible. That’s the nature of marriage, and the nature of love.

Isn’t it amazing how God made us for one another? Self-sufficiency may be the most dehumanizing attitude that a person can have, because it is utterly contrary to what God created us to be.