Today confirmed Carl Jung’s observation: “Hurry is not of the devil; hurry is the devil.”

Laid up at home, recuperating from a knee injection yesterday, I had plenty of time to think. So what did I think about? Everything I should have been doing at the office; a couple of software programs that I intend to try; several books I’m in process of reading; preparation for a class that I’m teaching this Sunday; etc., etc. My mind whirred with the possibilities.

In fact, I went for a walk after dinner to limber up that knee and, on the way back, my mind was so preoccupied with Saturday’s chore list that I walked a block beyond my street. So my day of rest became a day of planning tasks, anticipating them, and criticizing myself that I didn’t get some of them accomplished!

Someone once asked the Catholic monk Thomas Merton what he thought was the most dangerous moral snare of our generation. “Efficiency,” he said. 

While God has given us eternity, our Accuser drives us to squeeze as much as possible out of every minute. So we over-schedule, over-plan, and over-analyze our lives until we lose sight of eternity. We are bedeviled with the fleeting nature of now.