My Christian brothers and sisters who follow the lectionary call these weeks between Epiphany and Easterordinary time.” The term comes from a Latin word that means “numbering,” and signifies that these weeks are numbered in the liturgical calendar. (For example, I’m writing this on the third Sunday of ordinary time–i.e., the third Sunday after Epiphany.)

Most of us understand the word ordinary to mean “plain” or “unimportant,” so when we hear the phrase “ordinary time,” we suppose it means same-old-same-old time. Unimportant time. Not-worth-mentioning time.

But the psalmist saw it differently. Psalm 39:4 asks God to make him aware of the number of his days because every one is precious, even more precious as he advances in age:

Show me, O LORD, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life.

Like him, I’m becoming more conscious of the number of my days. It fills me with greater urgency to do what I can to advance God’s Kingdom and build healthy relationships with those around me.  I’m eager to make the most of every day because I live in ordinary (numbered) time.